...Tita Onyebuchi, Nze >Abuja<

PSC Announces Promotion of 1897 Senior Police Officers, Others

Please find details in a Press Statement as attached.




 - Longe, Garba, Abass, Adeniyi, Asabi, Okoro, Chuku, Nagoyo others  Now AIGs -Ogunlowo, Opara, Musa, Jimoh, Akpanudom, Dung, Ayilara, Uka, others CPs; Aniedy Udoh,  Badmos , Ahmadu, Eruogu,  Igometi , Chinna Joe-Iruobe others Now ACPs;  Arase charges them to go win the war against insurgency says PSC uncomfortable with the trend of events 

The Police Service Commission on Tuesday,  January 23rd 2024 approved the appointment of AIG Dasuki Galadanci  AIG incharge of Zone 12 Bauchi as a Deputy Inspector General of Police to represent the North West Geopolitical zone of the country. He will replace DIG Ibrahim Sani Ka'oje  who is expected to retire 2nd of February this year. 

The Commission also approved the promotion of 1897 senior Police Officers  to their next substantive ranks.

The Commission  elevated 14 Commissioners of Police to the next rank of Assistant Inspectors General of Police. However, one of the Commissioners for promotion  to AIG was stepped down to enable the Commission  review the Pending Disciplinary Matters against the Officer which was sent to the Commission by the Nigeria Police Force.

The new AIGs are;  Yetunde O. Longe, CP Eastern Ports, Portharcourt; Haruna Gabriel Garba, CP Federal Capital Territory; Tajudeen Akinwale Abass, CP Delta State;   Rex Dundun, CP General Investigation, FCID Annex Kaduna;  Durosinmi Olatoye, CP Akwa Ibom State;  Afolabi Babatola Adeniyi, CP Adamawa State;  Abiodun Oladimeji Asabi, CP Ondo State;  CP  Julius Alawari Okoro; CP Plateau state;  George Chijioke Chuku, CP Benue State; Paul Alifa Omata, CP K9 Force Headquarters; Yusuf Adesina Akeem, CP Research and Development, Force Headquarters; Bzigu Yakabu kwazhi Dali, CP Osun State;  Idris Nagoyo, Police Mounted troop Squadron and Cp Ogundare Dare Emmanuel, Cp Ekiti state.

The Commission also promoted 21 Deputy Commissioners of Police to the substantive rank of Commissioners ; 20 Assistant Commissioners to Deputy Commissioners,  109 Chief Superintendents to Assistant Commissioners  and 184 Superintendents to Chief Superintendents. 

It also considered and approved the promotion  of 1549  Assistant Superintendents to Deputy Superintendents. 

The Commission Chairman,  Dr. Solomon Arase, CFR, retired Inspector General of Police who presided over the Management Meeting of the Commission has accordingly given anticipatory approval for the appointment  of one DIG and promotion  of  1897 senior Police Officers recommended to the Commission by the Inspector General of Police.

The 14 Commissioners of Police and 21 Deputy Commissioners  appeared before the Management of the Commission for an interactive promotion interview, a condition precedent for their elevation to the next ranks.

Dr. Arase at the interactive session  charged the Officers to quickly settle down to their new ranks and go forth and win the war against banditry, kidnapping and violent crimes in the country.

Dr. Arase said the nation is facing an avoidable unprecedented wave of criminal assaults on all fronts and said the Commission is uncomfortable  with the trend of events.

The PSC Chairman enjoined the Officers to settle down and crime map their various  areas of responsibility  by being conversant with trends and patterns of crimes in their domain and should be able to engage in predictive policing to mitigate the current criminal disorders by criminal gangs now mauruding  across the lenght and breadth of the country. 

As senior Officers, he said they must be held responsible for any relapse in the security apparatus of the nation adding that they must see their new ranks as a call to greater dedication to the service of their fatherland. "These promotions should further ignite the indomitable fighting spirit of the Officers and Men",he admonished the newly promoted Officers.

The Deputy Commissioners promoted to the next rank of substantive Commissioners are; Olanrewaju  Peter Ogunlowo, Assistant  Chief of Mission in Somalia; Mohammed  Dahiru, DCP State CID Adamawa; Sunday Olukayode,  DCP Operations, Plateau State; Peter Ukachi Opara, DCP Admin, Imo State; Illiyasu Yahaya Kwarbai, DCP investagion Zonal Command Bauchi; Bello Mohammed Sani, DCP Projects Monitoring, IGP Secretariat;  Mohammed  Umar Abba, DCP State CID, Delta Command; Dankombo Faling Morris, DCP Ops Adamawa  Command; Bello Shehu, National Defence College; Ibrahim Balarabe Maikaba; DCP Zonal CID Kano; Ahmed Musa, DCP  State CID, FCT Cmd, Olohundare Moshood Jimoh, former Force Public Relations Officer and currently DCP General Investigation  Unit, FCID Annex, Gombe; Simeon Udofia Akpanudom, DCP Ops Cross Rivers State Command; Olugbemiga Emmanuel Adesina, DCP Benue State Command and David Iloyanomon, DCP Administration. Anambra Command.

Others are; Haruna Olufemi, DCP Force Intelligence Bureau; Rose Chollom Dung, DCP Administration,  Bauchi Command; Obono Nnaghe Itam, DCP Operations Zone 6 Calabar; Adedamola Waheed Ayilara, DCP FCID Panti Lagos; Abel Jangnap Miri Zwalchir, DCP ICT Administration Force Headquarters and Ifeanyi Uka DCP/ second in Command Works, Force Headquarters Abuja.

The 20 Assistant Commissioners of Police promoted to Deputy Commissioners, include ;  Gerald Ngoziabata, Nigerian Army Resource Centre;  Okenla Oluseyi ACP DFA, Cooperatives, Lagos; Olubunmi Fakeye, ACP Police College Ikeja; Ayodeji Adelogagunduro, Area Commander  Ayetoro, Ogun State; Samuel Dalti Dang of Armament section, Force Headquarters;

Some of the CSPs promoted to Assistant Commissioners are; Casmir Ihiezu, Lagos Command; Charity Belema Megbope, Ogun Command; Gamaliel Alex, Rivers State Command ; Sani Ahmed, DPO Awada Anambra stste; Cecilia Aniedy Udo, DPO  Mini Okoro, Portharcourt; CSP Dalapo Badmos, CSP Administration  Provost Marshal Force Headquarters; Adamu Ahmadu, Commander C41 Intelligence Unit, Rivers State Command; CSP Collins Eruogu, former Commanding Officer 33PMF and presently Commander AKS/RRS Anambra State Command; CSP Isreal Effiong  Ukpong 2/ic 19PMF Portharcourt; CSP Linus Uche Nwaiwu, Police Training school, Nekede,  Imo state; CSP Onoh Charles, CSP Administration  ICT, Force Headquarters; CSP Abubakar Abdulkarim, DPO Kubwa FCT; CSP Taiwo Oladipupo Akingbehin,  Commander EOD, Force Headquarters  Annex Ikeja; CSP Moses Odu Osor, Zone 7 Abuja; CSP Garba Bala, DPO Dawakin, FCT; CSP Benjamin  Igometi  and CSP Chinna Joe-Iruobe of the Veterinary section, Force Headquarters. 

Some of the 184 Officers promoted to CSP from the rank of SPs are; Victor Olowola; Ibrahim Abdullahi; Hassiani Audu; Stephen Bob Samuel; Mohammed Alhaji; Onukafor Kingsley  Nkuma, ADC to the Governor of Anambra State;  Fabian Iloabanafor, Commander CP Monitoring and Surveillance team, Ebonyi state Command; Luka Paul Sambo, DPO New Benin, Benin City, Edo State and Agboni Jacob Christopher, 54 PMF, Onitsha;

The approval has been conveyed to the Inspector General of Police for implementation. 

Ikechukwu Ani

Head, Press and Public Relations

Wednesday,  January  24th 2023


                                          Partner with CRIME REPORTERS, Abuja                                                                                               for a Robust Security Reportage                                                                                                              ...Call 08032577444

Post a Comment


Skip to main content