Prof. Okorie Ani Emerges APC Ebonyi South Senatorial Candidate.

- By Joyce Onuora, Abakaliki

The All Progressive Congress (APC) Primary elections to fill in the vacant position occasioned by the exit of Engr David Umahi from the Senate by his appointment as Minister for Works, was held on Saturday 7th of January, 2024, at Afikpo North Local Government Council Headquarters of Ebonyi State.

The election produced Chief Prof. Okorie Anthony Ani as the winner 

Prof Anthony Okorie who is a Professor of agriculture at the Federal University of Technology Owerri (FUTO), Imo State, emerged winner of the primaries to represent APC in the forthcoming February 3, 2024 Senatorial replacement elections.

According to the chairman of the electoral panel, Mr Akin Akinsehinwa, Prof. Ani polled a total number of 281 votes of the 285 votes cast by the delegates, while 4 votes was invalid 

The chairman of the electoral panel also noted that Mrs Ann Agom Eze who was one of the aspirants that indicated interest to participate in Primaries after purchasing the form, failed to return it for screening.

Speaking to newsmen after the declaration, Prof. Ani said, he feels so great and happy, saying, his victory came like a dream to him; stating that he is 100% confidence in the All Progressive Congress (APC) as a Party, while promising to carry everyone along.

APC State Party Chairman Hon. Stanley Okoro Emeghe, while speaking to newsmen said, that All Progressive Congress (APC) understands the heart beat of the masses and that's the reason they selected Prof Ani who also hears the heart beat of commoners, "We selected him because we know he understands the heart beat of masses and we have track his records, we have seen what he has done in his communities and have decided to choose him"

 "It's a collective decision, his people said we should go with him, we did a critical analysis of all of them and decided to select him and we want to balances the power in order to meet the need of masses" APC Chairman said.

Post a Comment


Skip to main content